New Berlin Historical Society

The Landmarks Commission was created by Common Council Ordinance No. 897 on May 23, 1989. (Subsequent Ordinances 960, 1085, 2037) The Commission is made up of 9 members (8 are appointed by the Mayor, and 1 is appointed by the Common Council President.) Members serve 3-year terms. Common Council members shall serve a 1-year term.

The mission of the New Berlin Landmarks Commission is to serve the people of the City as stewards of improvements and districts, and to develop historical, cultural, social, political and economic interest in our community.  Continuation of our heritage for current and future generations is accomplished through the perpetuation and use of such improvements and districts, and by educating the citizenry and fostering in them a deep sense of civic pride in the beauty and noble accomplishments of the past and present.

Regular Meeting

  • Third Thursday of each month at 6:30 p.m. at City Hall

Note: Although the New Berlin Historical Society and the Landmarks Commission are unaffiliated organizations, they share some common goals. Several NBHS board members also serve on the Commission. The NBHS is pleased to host the Landmarks Commission on its web site.